Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 24th, 2011

Egg-citing Eggs

Chocolate Easter EggsEgg Hunting on a fine Easter Sunday?  An egg hunt is a game during Easter season which hard-boiled painted eggs are hidden for children to find.  But today, Easter Chocolate Eggs are much more famous.  The egg is widely used to represent the start of a new life practiced by Christians as a symbol of the resurrection of Jesus.  I remember when I was younger; we did Easter Egg Hunt and painted some eggs.  I don’t know but there is an unexplained bliss in painting these eggs.  You get to personalize them, paint the face of your enemy then smash ‘em.  Of course as a kid, I painted those awful zigzagged patterns, scary polka dots, zebra stripes that don’t really look like one and some horrible emoticons.  Even so, I was so proud of it. Finding these eggs on a hunt makes it so exciting especially if you have collected the most.  Eggs, however, get very unlucky.  They either get rolled, picked on, boiled, harassed, smashed, toyed, dodged and messed up.  But they all look adorable during this season.  All glammed up with fancy decorations.

In another egg-related topic, my sister once made eggs with cheese.  I love cheese!  I can totally munch them in seconds.  But I don’t like eggs.  I even order a “tapsilog” without the egg.  Weird, right? If I eat with somebody who happens to describe egg as heaven, she can have all my egg she wants.  I don’t eat eggs.  Not because I’m susceptible to it but I just simply don’t like it.  I don’t enjoy eating them as much as I enjoy any cholesterol-rich food.  But eggs with cheese, this I like!  Totally changed my point of view on eggs.  This is a better egg in an egg-citing way.  I made my version.

  • Crack eggs into a bowl.  Beat them.
  • Add a tablespoon of milk (optional).  I use fresh milk.  It’s what I saw first in my fridge.  The milk keep the eggs light and fluffy.
  • Whisk the eggs and milk until it’s blended well.
  • Add a generous measure of quickmelt cheese or a regular cheese.  Whatever’s available in your fridge.  Make sure the cheese is melted or at least already soft.
  • In a non-stick pan, add a tablespoon of butter and turn the heat down.
  • Pour the egg mixture into the pan when the butter turned bubbly.
  • Cook the eggs over medium heat until you see the edges start to appear firm.  Stir in the eggs with a silicone or wooden spatula to begin to scramble.
  • Continue cooking while stirring them often with the spatula until you see that the cheese completely melts.
  • Lower the heat to low when the eggs seem to cooked.

DISCLAIMER:  I do not own the Easter Chocolate Eggs photo.

Read Full Post »